Schools & Youth Programs

How will residential development affect school seating needs in East Midtown?
CB6 office staff and interns compiled a list of residential buildings that are located within Manhattan School District 2: PS 40, PS 116, and PS 281, which cover much of CB6. There are currently 30 residential developments in planning, construction or near completion, which will add roughly 4,138 units.  How school seat needs within the area will be impacted is an important question for community members to consider. Click here for more, including a spreadsheet listing all 30 developments, and a Google map showing their locations.

 

Community Education Council District 2 Main Site
http://www.cecd2.net/

CECD2 Roster & Links
http://www.cecd2.net/site_res_view_folder.aspx?id=adb26c34-72e8-451b-a7b9-3d6722631a6e

District Middle School Background Information
http://schools.nyc.gov/NR/rdonlyres/64662E3F-7266-4D1F-A3F1-C45AF3ED3D29/0/20132014D2MSD.pdf

P.S. 226
345 E. 15th Street
http://p226m.weebly.com/
212-477-5017
Principal: Rachelle Klainberg, rklainb@schools.nyc.gov
Parent Coordinator: Charlie Urena, 718-583-5560

P.S. 40
319 E. 19th Street
http://www.ps40.org/
212-475 5500
Principal: Susan Felder (ext. 0), sfelder@schools.nyc.gov
Parent Coordinator: Juliette Knight, ext. 2016, 347-563 5132, jknight3@schools.nyc.gov

P.S. 116
210 E. 33rd Street
http://www.ps116.org/
212-685-4366
Principal: Jane Hsu, jhsu@ps116.org
Parent Coordinator: Victoria Ritter, ext. 1114, 347-563-5168; vritter@ps116.org
PS 116 PTA: ps116ptamembership@gmail.com

P.S. 59
216 East 63rd Street
http://059m.r9tech.org/
(212) 888 7870
Principal: Adele Schroeter
Parent Coordinator: Kathleen King, ext. 1102, kking6@schools.nyc.gov

JHS 104
330 E. 21st Street
http://www.104m.org/
212-674-4545
Principal: Rosemarie Gaetani, rgaetan@schools.nyc.gov
Parent Coordinator: Blanca Rivera, brivera@schools.nyc.gov

MS 255 Salk School of Science
320 East 20th Street
http://www.salkschool.org/
212-614 – 8785
Principal: Rhonda Perry, ext. 4250, rhonda.perry@salkschool.org
Parent Coordinator: Patti Burr, patti.burr@salkschool.org

School of the Future HS
127 E. 22nd Street
http://www.sof.edu/
212-475-8086
Principal: Stacy Goldstein; info@sof.edu
Parent Coordinator: Vilmarys Pichardo, vpichardo@sof.edu
[NOT IN CB6.  THIS SCHOOL IS WITHIN CB5.]

Washington Irving HS
40 Irving Place
http://www.washingtonirvinghigh.org/
212-674 5000
Principal: Sarah Hernandez, ext. 2100
Parent Coordinator: Yvette Singleton, ext. 6

Manhattan Comprehensive Night & Day School
240 2nd Avenue
http://www.mcndhs.com/
212-353 2010
Principal: Michael Toise, ext. 200, michael.toise@mcndhs.com
Parent Coordinator: Gisell Martinez, ext. 109, gisell.martinez@mcdhs.com

Art & Design HS
245 East 56th St., NY NY 10022
http://www.artanddesignhs.com/
212-752-4340
Principal: Fran DeSanctis    fdesanc@schools.nyc.gov
Parent Coordinator: Janeen Johnson; jjohnson32@schools.nyc.gov, 347-563-5129; 212-752-4340 ext. 60712
Alexandra Matusinka, President, Friends of Art & Design HS,  alexm726@yahoo.com; 212-752-4340 ext. 60711

Baruch Campus HS
17 Lexington Avenue
http://www.bcchsnyc.net/
212-802 2620
Outside Program Coordinator: Diana Di Rico, dirico.diana@bcchsnyc.net
Parent Coordinator: Janice Salmeri, salmeri.janice@bcchsnyc.net

Institute for Collaborative Education – ICE
345 E. 15th Street
http://www.iceschool.net/
212-475 7972
Principal: Peter Karp, pkarpice@gmail.com, ext. 5093
Secretary: Eileen Ambrose, eambrose@schools.nyc.gov

High School for Health Professions & Human Services
345 East 15th Street
http://www.hphsnyc.org/
212-780-9175
Principal: Robert A. Gentile, ext 2102, rgentile@schools.nyc.gov
Parent coordinator: Elizabeth Chow, ext. 1184, echow@schools.nyc.gov

Youth Programs

New Country Day Camp
344 East 14th Street
http://www.14streety.org/newcountry/welcome-to-new-country-day-camp/
212-780-0800

Vanderbilt YMCA
224 East 47th Street
http://www.ymcanyc.org/vanderbilt
212-912-2500

Kips Bay Youth Program
Phipps Plaza, 484 2nd Avenue
212-685-9203

Manhattan Youth
330 East 21st Street (JHS 104)
http://www.manhattanyouth.org/
212-863-9387